Careerbuilder.com: Spam King of the Recession Age?
Like many Americans these days, I'm hunting for positive cashflow and investigating ways in which I can trade my time and effort for paper I can turn around and trade for food and lodging and art supplies. And in this day and age, the way to do that is through a variety of websites that connect job seekers with employers.
The highest value sites are ones where the employers have to pay to look at a résumé. The logic is like the old days of catalog marketing where you had to send a dollar to get a widget catalog. Often the seller would rebate the dollar with the first order, but in order to get the catalog you had to show some initiative and commitment. There are zillions of people out there who will take anything as long as it's free, and there is a much smaller number of people that will pay even a dollar for something they don't even want or have no more than a passing curiosity about. At the same time a dollar, especially if it comes off the first order, is a low enough barrier to entry that no one that seriously wants your catalog would stop at it.
After updating my résumé on CareerBuilder.com, which is one of the bigger job websites, I immediately started getting «interview offers» from companies that were unrelated to anything that appears on my résumé. Here is a sample:
June 8, 2009
Dear Steven,
We have reviewed your resume on CareerBuilder.com and feel we may have an interest in scheduling you for an interview. Please take a moment to answer a brief questionnaire (see the link below) that will further assist us in determining if a preliminary match exists between your qualifications and career objectives and our corporate goals.
Interviews will be conducted in the San Francisco area on Monday of next week. To be clear, this position does NOT require a daily commute.
PLEASE NOTE: You have been sent this email because we saw something in your resume that would indicate to us a potential fit for professional business to business sales.
If you feel we have made an error, there is no reason for you to click on the compatibility profile below. Please simply scroll to the bottom of this email and click on the link to be permanently removed from our selection process.
Click below for our online compatibility questionnaire: [REDACTED]
The Lionheart Group, Inc. is uniquely positioned to attract, develop and retain preeminent field and management talent in an emerging industry characterized by high-growth and minimal competition. We specialize in providing business owners and employee groups of all sizes with cutting edge employee benefits specifically designed for identity theft restoration and access to the legal system.
We seek independent-minded individuals with solid interpersonal communications skills to join our elite team of highly trained business to business sales professionals. Our Agents can earn substantial incomes marketing our plans both as employee benefits and as valuable tools for business owners.
This went on for several more paragraphs, but it's pretty clear that where they wrote «You have been sent this email because we saw something in your resume» that «something» was a contact email address and nothing more.
One of two things is true: either CareerBuilder.com is selling email addresses in bulk (which I think would violate the terms of service) or $600 for two weeks is too low a barrier of entry to prevent multi-level-marketers and Ponzi scammers from scraping up all the email addresses of all résumés they can get and sending mass-mailings to everyone who is looking for any job.
It gets worse, too. Some of these «offers» are in broken English and carry the earmarks of the famous Nigerian email scams:
Our part time work proposition provides you with supplemental wages which depends on your percent, and is rather competitive.
You have a possibility to earn $700-1400 per week.
Requirements:
- Computer and Internet skills
- Age 21 and older
- Good Communications Skills
- checking account
If CareerBuilder.com cannot do a better job of weeding out «employers» who are looking not for workers but for marks, then they shouldn't be getting the business of individuals with actual skills who are seeking to make themselves available to be employed.


Comments
Requiring a checking account?
Requiring a checking account? DANGER WILL ROBINSON.
No Kidding.
I'm also seeing a number of canned emails similar to the first one. Is it really common nowadays for companies not to contact individuals with some kind of request for more information or a phone interview but just invite us to an «employment seminar» by which I take to mean «cattle call»?
Job Boards & Scam emails
I remember when, as a recruiter, I bought my first Careerbuildr & HotJobs subscription. They just about asked for a blood sample to prove that I had a legitimate company. My impression is that they are either not vetting these people as well anymore or they simply don't care because they need the revenue. I tell all my readers to use them only as research tools...nothing more.
I have noticed a few spams
I have noticed a few spams like that, but my spam filters usually catch them.
What they don't catch is a "look-alike" email from click.careerbuilder-email.com which appears to poorly duplicate the normal careerbuilder.com email. However, every link and image on the page leads to a database connection, presumably to track the emails of who clicks, so I refuse to view the images or click on any of the links, so it appears to them as if I've never opened the email.
I've always wondered if it was indeed spam, and in that not knowing, I've just put them aside and not registered it with the internet spam cops. But now, I've closed the careerbuilder.com account, and the click.careerbuilder-email.com is still coming, so I am pretty sure it's a fake domain look-alike spam.
Sadly though, valid targeted email addresses are worth quite a bit of money to marketing folks, so perhaps it's cheap for them to get a paid subscription to something like careerbuilder and cull it for emails.
Not Sure If This Counts
I received an email recently from someone posing as a CareerBuilder user seeking employees, but there was nothing blatantly screaming "scam" in the email body. The content was written well and the request never asked for a checking account or anything of the sort. It only asked for a name, zip and email address.
The thing that gets me is that I don't even have an account on careerbuilder.com and to make sure of it, I went to careerbuilder.com, went to login and clicked on "forgot password". The website confirmed this when it said that email address was not on file. After confirming that I've never used CareerBuilder, I emailed the person back and said "I've never used careerbuilder.com, therefore this email is fake."
Here is the email in question:
Looks like s[c|p]am to me
Normally I would have edited the email address out of your post, but hey, if spammers find that address when they're scraping the Web for email addresses, so be it.
My guess is that it is some sort of pyramid scheme if not a lure to get people to purchase a «training» or «set-up» kit of some sort, thinking that there's actual income attached to it somehow. Also the irregularities in the English suggest an off-shore scam. Legitimate companies should have proper English in their marketing communications. The domain in his email is registered to a service that masks the registrant's information, but these days that doesn't mean a whole lot. You can't get my personal email and phone number out of splicer.com's registration any longer.
I only hope that you didn't use your own regular email address to write back to these people. The whole strategy may be to collect email addresses connected to real people. You may have found your way to getting more spam.
Career builder (mass appeal jobs) spam to me
"Looking for dedicated, driven professionals who desire a career in Information Technology. Our clients and hiring partners have multiple entry to mid-level Information Technology positions to fill in their help desk, PC/Network repair, and desktop departments. We are also looking for energetic deployment technicians to satisfy large projects throughout the New York area" THESE ARE SCAM\SPAM!!!
1. no contact info 2. no "real" company mentioned 3. the "locations" are not known. 4. Because it is says "multiple entry to mid-level" (that is the appeal) that is spreading the net real wide! so a mass of folks will submit your resume info! LOOK out for the "mass appeal" lines.
These guys are slick!
momyzh
hi there
المميزة
ازياء
بنت
طبخ
موضه
Post new comment